Kyle Kane | LOWE | Week 8

Project: Entitlement Research 

Project Manager: Jacob Lindsey 

Tuesday – 11.01.22

Tuesday morning I talked with Jacob about my thoughts on the event and vise versa. After this, Jacob introduced a new side research project for me that looked into the allocation and efficiency of the parking garages near Union Pier. I began to work on that after my meeting with Jacob because he had a meeting on Friday with the ports authority.

Axp. Hours: 3      Category: Programing & Analysis

Wednesday – 11.02.22

Wednesday was continued looking into the parking situation. I found a city-ordered study called the Kimley-Herm parking survey and it was able to give me a lot of good information.

Axp. Hours: 3.5   Category: Programing & Analysis

Thursday – 11.03.22 

When I got into the office I was able to finish getting the numbers for my parking research competed and started on turning hem into infographics, but Jacob pulled me into a meeting about about biking in the new development (city bikes, right of ways, etc.). After the meeting I stayed to get my graphics done for Jacob.

Axp Hours: 5     Category: Programing & Analysis

Friday – 11.04.22

First thing I did when I got into the office was send over my parking findings to Jacob. Then I went back and finished drawing my site plan graphics and took them into photoshop.

Axp Hours: 2.5   Category: Project Development & Documentation

Lesson Learned

There is a subtle art that goes along with getting parking to work in a manner that meets the market demand, pleases the market vendors, and not put in massive parking decks everywhere. It also illuminated how inefficient some of the existing parking garages are. The conversation about the engagement event was a nice down-load to see what goes on in Jacobs head during one of those events. I was partially given the job to be a fly on the wall and listen to what people were saying and talk to people, and I was able to learn a lot about what people thought was most important.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *