Brooke Young | Design Division | Week 8

Monday (10-31-22)

Today I continued to work on the Market St bike lane concept graphics. I completed 2 concept plan drawings with the existing curb and 3 conecpt plan drawings with the proposed curb extension. All of the concept drawing showcased an array of bike lane implementations. I also had a meeting with my mentor to discuss what she felt should be added/reiterated to accurately depict bike lane design guidelines and SCDOT regulations. After the meeting I reiterated the drawings to fit the critiques received by my mentor and completed all 5 plan drawings.

Work Period: 1:30PM – 5:30PM

Tuesday (11-01-22)

Today I worked on creating the first iterations of 2 concept section drawings for the Market St bike lane project. Similar to the plan drawings, these sections also needed to depict appropriate bike lane design guidelines and SCDOT regulations. I briefly meet with my mentor to discuss the graphical style of the drawings and compare to previous successful section drawings done in the past.

Work Period: 1:30PM – 5:50PM

Reflection

This week I was able to work on various concept drawings depicting appropriate bike lane design guidelines, which is something I haven’t learned to this point in my academic schooling so I was able to expand my knowledge in this area. I spent a large portion of my time studying bike lane design guideline materials in order to create the most accurate graphics for the project. I learned of various bike lane types, signage, and recommended vs required elements for varying bike lane types.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *