March 7 to 10 | Moseley Architects | Weekly Journal

03.07.2022 – On this day, I worked on Kanuga Chapel in Hendersonville, North Carolina. I was first debrief on the project and told the history of the chapel. After learning about the extents, I began work on finishing up the existing revit model.

Total Hours (4:00) | AXP Hours – Project Development and Documentation

03.08.2022 – On this day, I continued work on the Kanuga Chapel existing revit model. After wrapping up the model, I drafted the location map as well as the vicinity map. I then began setting up the construction document sheets for the project. Once I finished setting up the sheets, I began work on the proposed revit model. There is an addition being adding to the front of the chapel as well as the back to give more space for meeting rooms as well as bathrooms for the church goers.

Total Hours (4:00) | AXP Hours – Project Development and Documentation

03.09.2022 – On this day, I continued working on the proposed revit model for the Kanuga Chapel. I learned how to create design options in revit, so that we could show our different floor plan schemes in the same central file.

Total Hours (4:00) | AXP Hours – Project Development and Documentation

03.10.2022 – Today, I continued working on the proposed revit model for Kanuga Chapel. They are wanting to add a traditional organ into the church, which means the pipes will be placed above in the ceiling. I began examining the proposed model sections today to determine how much space we have for the new organ installation.

Total Hours (4:00) | AXP Hours – Project Development and Documentation

Reflecting on this week, I got the chance to work on a project type that I have never had to chance to work on before. Designing a chapel is more intricate and personal than designing a commercial building. It is important to keep in mind who the end user is going to be and how they will use the space for their religious ceremonies. I also am learning more about building additions onto existing buildings. This church has been in the mountains of Asheville for awhile, so the way we tackle the addition is very important, we want to preserve the original look.

Kanuga Chapel

Hendersonville, NC

Renovation

Dave Baccarrini

Complete existing revit model, redesign interior spaces, and layout new addition

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *