Jalyn Haynes – Liollio Internship: Week 5

MONDAY (01.31):

I had been tasked the two weeks before with a couple of assignments already: glass laser cut etching studies for a façade, cleaning up floor plans for the firm’s portfolio and Photoshopping wood stain options for a maintenance project. Last week I was assigned to start the physical model for the BAR presentation coming up in late March.

TUESDAY (02.01):

In the morning, I was waiting for more chipboard to come in so I could finish the model, so the AutoCAD files for laser cutting the balsa wood model. I was able to learn about Sketchup from my neighbor, Ryan. We discussed the similarities between both Rhino and Sketchup and I concluded the Sketchup is a safer, more intuitive software than Rhino. More things are possible to be done in Rhino because of Grasshopper and other plugin options, but for Sketchup is better for visualization.

WEDNESDAY (02.02):

Today, Liollio had waffles and representatives from companies that make materials come in and talk. I’ve recently realized my love for material, texture, and craft, so it was fun learning about the different types of tiles, carpet, and wallpaper that was available. I believe this one meeting was for libraries, so there was also some interesting talk about the type of storage that was needed in a library. I was also able to sit in on my first pin-up for a new project. I was able to make suggestions, but I mostly just wanted to listen in.

THURSDAY:

On the last day of the official work week, I worked more on the physical model. I was running into problems with putting the pieces together, so I asked my supervisor over the physical model and he helped out a lot! I learned that how to properly set laser cutting properties so that it doesn’t burn the material.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *