Jerome Simiyon-Bello Garris Architects-Week 3

Week 3

I worked for 16.5 hours this week and earned 10AXP hours under project development and documentation category and 6AXP hours under Project planning and Design.

01/31/2022

On January 31st, I worked on the existing model of GEL lobby. The week before, Myself and  Ryan went to take measurements of the lobby. I added the floors and ceilings to the model. Revit tutorials and Ryan’s experience helped me learn some new tricks in revit.

02/01/2022

On February 1st, I continued working on updating the model for GEL lobby. I also did some research on Flood vents for the 275 Hugher street project. I studied the FEMA guidelines and learned about wet floodproofing and dry floodproofing and dry wet proofing. I found a product and helped Nick to schedule a lunch and learn session with a smart vent company. 

02/02/2022

On February 2nd, I met with my boss Eric to discuss the 1180 Sam Rittenberg project. It’s a renovation project with a limited budget. I had to research some facade options for this building. I started working on the model trying some options for the facade. I also created the signage for the GEL lobby in revit. Learned Model-in-Place tool in revit. 

02/03/2022

I continued working on the elevation for 1180 Sam Ritternberg. After the first iteration, I met with my boss Eric and discussed it. He gave his feedback and explained how to evaluate options and make decisions in a project with a very limited budget. I’ll be working on it next weekend based on his idea of “Less is More”. 

Lessons learned:

This week I learned about FEMA guidelines and understood its importance in the Charleston region. Particularly, about the placement of flood vents on the crawlspace and the difference between dry floodproofing and wet floodproofing. I also learned some new revit tools and how to work in phases. Learned about the details of the facade system. I also learned how to communicate with a project manufacturer and seek their help with some details.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *