Brittany Lapple | SMHa | Aug. 30 – Sept. 3

Weekly Hours: 16 | Total Hours: 40

This summer I had the opportunity to work for SMHa as a full-time employee. I believe this prior experience will have a tremendous impact on the semester ahead. I was able to spend several months acquainting myself the firm standards, as well as my coworkers and mentor. This time allowed me to gain the trust of my project team, which will hopefully translate into increased workload and independence in the coming weeks.

As we begin the semester, I have had to relearn and adjust what a typical work week looks like. I have found that it is difficult to fully immerse yourself into a project while only working a few hours a day. However, I believe this will challenge me to become more effective at managing my time. This will be increasingly important as the weeks go on.

I have been working on a multi facility retail complex at Carolina Park in Mount Pleasant, SC. I was assigned to this project during its schematic design phase and have seen it through the DRB submittal process thus far. In the coming weeks, we have several deadlines including another round of DRB submittals, as well as 100% Design Documentation. Construction Documents are due on October 18th, and I will be spending much of my time up to that point on this project.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *