Thaly Jimenez | NOVUS Architects | Week 1

8/30/21 – 8/31/21 

The week of October 30th I worked a total of 16 hours on two separate projects. The first project was for the healthcare team and it was the ‘TMC Cancer Center Renovation’ in North Charleston. For this project, I made small changes such as creating room and door tags, placing interior finish tags in rooms, adding ceiling grids in the RCPs, and created sheets for the project.

9/1/21 – 9/2/21

The second project I worked on is called ‘Directors Row’ in Indianapolis, Indiana. For this project, I created a Revit model of the site and existing buildings and made renderings of the existing building conditions as well as a proposal to make it look more modern and less outdated. I made renders showing several color options for exterior walls and roofs as well as variations of a mural on the side of the building.

This week’s tasks helped me achieve my AXP hours in two different categories: project planning and design and project development and documentation

Lesson’s learned:

One of the lessons I learned this week was about the initial process that takes place at the beginning of the project. I learned the logistics of proposing a design to a client and how it is an iterative process that can take up to several weeks to settle on a final design. I liked applying my studio knowledge and design thinking into one of the first project I worked for at this firm. I also gained some knowledge about healthcare architecture, which is a field I had not worked in before. I learned a little about the different requirements and aspects of a design that you have to think of when designing or renovating a hospital. There are a lot more specific requirements and restrictions.

Below I am attaching two of the renderings I made for the client proposal. I worked with Jerry Traino in this task to determine which changes we need to make to the existing building while staying within the client’s budget.

Record of Work
First Proposal Rendering

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *