Week 8: 3/2/20 – 3/5/20

DAILY LOGS

Monday, March 2

Hours Worked: 8:00 – 12:30 Total: 4.5 hours

  • Office Meeting
  • Facade Renovation – Site Photos

AXP Category: Project Development & Documentation and Practice Management

Tuesday, March 3

Hours Worked: 8:00 – 1:00 Total: 5 hours

  • Insulation Detailing
  • Life Safety Plan
  • Lunch and Learn – Sealing Joints in a Building Envelope

AXP Category: Project Planning & Design and Project Development and Documentation

Wednesday, March 4

Hours Worked: 8:00 – 12:00 Total: 4 hours

  • Concept design for co-working space

AXP Category: Project Management

Thursday, March 5

Hours Worked: 8:00 – 12:00 Total: 4 hours

  • Concept design for co-working space

AXP Category: Project management

 

WEEKLY REFLECTION

This week I’ve learned a valuable lesson at the firm, and that is learning how to contribute more to the firm culture. As an intern, I’m still trying to figure out my place, but I am thankful to have a mentor that is willing to work with me and figure out what I would like to learn. One thing they like to do at the firm is a show and tell, and for this, I was able to present my project to everyone at the firm. I’ve received helpful feedback, such as BAR requirements and the Charleston culture. I also sat in on a lunch and learned, I’ve learned that since buildings move constantly, they need to accommodate stress factors. Sealing joints help reduce cracking and damage to structural elements. For the remainder of the week, I’ve worked on a conceptual design for a co-working space. I am unable to share detail about at the moment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *