Herlong Architects 2/17 – 2/20

The whole week of February 17-20 I worked on detailing the Albrecht home on SketchUp.  I learned a good bit about how they design roofs here and it was interesting to get to build that way in a 3D digital model. Even though I am very familiar with SketchUp, working with the people I do gives me the opportunity to learn even more, and useful ways to use the program. On Tuesday,  I had the chance to also learn more about PowerCADD.  The whole team had a meeting for about an hour going over different commands and such.  I had never heard of the program before working here, so being able to pick up and learn it relatively quick has been great! The other thing I got to do this week was research a little bit about Preliminary FEMA maps for new houses undergoing design + construction on Isle of Palms and Sullivan’s Island.  I’ve enjoyed learning about the different restrictions and challenges that architects face while designing homes here.  I love the challenge of making everything work, while also pleasing your clients!

(AXP Hours so far have all been for Project Development and Documentation.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *