Oct. 14-18 @ SMHa

Oct. 14 – Oct. 18 at SMHa

October 17:

Revit Model of Windwood Farms pavilion!  I kept working towards getting this done for drawings.

AXP Hours: PDD 4

October 18:

Finished my model!  I was able to put together all of the drawings needed for CD’s today.

AXP Hours:  PDD 4

Windwood Farms

Historic Merchants Hall, 36 North-Market, Charleston SC

Scope: One of our architects is doing a pro-bono project for Windwood farms and creating an outdoor, event pavilion to house their many occasions that happen at this venue.  The scope includes schematic design, CDs, and construction administration over this project to hopefully give this community a place to enjoy for many years to come.
Project Manager: Charles Muldrow
Role of Student:  I have assisted with creating the 3D Revit model of the pavilion, sections, elevations, details, and floorpans for construction documents.
What I have learned:

In this project specifically, I have learned a lot about construction.   Charles drew the pavilion himself and knew how to build it, and it has been a learning experience in figuring out how to draw his vision digitally.  Understanding the depth and level of construction that a pavilion might take helped me wrap my brain around that scope that the design+build studio is doing.  There was careful consideration to structure, and that structure and the way it would be built shaped the program, materials, and circulation of the space.  It makes me realize how important it is to know generally how these structures are built because it gives you a great framework for how everything else is supposed to follow.  If all of these areas of a project are in alignment, it makes a clean and understandable project.  I think that sometimes starting with structure could be an interesting inspiration when it comes to creating a parti or overall circulation route.  This is a different way of starting a design process than anyone I have ever seen before, but it is a very clean and clear way of constructing a vision.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *