Brooke Young | Design Division | Week 5

Tuesday (10-11-22)

Today I meet with my mentor and Ashley to discuss my performance and goals for the internship. After the meeting my mentor and I further discussed areas in which I could improve and new goals I could shoot for within the internship. We also talked about changes to the program used for project time tracking, as well as, project updates for the Low Battery project.

Work Period: 1PM – 2:15PM

Thursday (10-13-22)

Today I continued to work on providing graphical material to showcase 3 different concept ideas for the Low Battery project. Through out the day my mentor and I would have crits over the material, primarily discussing, above grade seating space vs ground level green space, landscape elements, symmetry of spaces, placing oak trees nearby benches to provide shade, number of benches within the seating spaces and more intimate spaces vs more public spaces. After reiterating the graphical material to replicate solutions discussed, I was tasked with adding labels/descriptions for the various concept options and infilling the graphical material into a presentation style template to present to the project engineers.

Work Period: 1:30PM – 5:40PM

Reflection

This week I was able to have an in depth conversation about areas in which I could improve in the workplace. This conversation has helped bring to light issues I wasn’t self-aware of and helped me better understand the etiquette of working within a design firm setting. Through my work on the Low Battery project material, I’ve further learned how the Design Division intercepts work and provides feedback to other firms and outside professionals. I’ve also learned through this project how different the graphical material visually needs to be to different audience types. For instance, for this project the material needs to be very diagrammatic with no stylization so that the engineers aren’t confused by the graphics.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *