Nick Oxendale | Thomas & Denzinger Architects | Week 4 of the Semester

This past week was an interesting week of work. I spend: 11 hours on modeling the existing Oyster Catcher pool house located on Seabrook Island (Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday), 2 hours working on an ad for a builderĀ  whom T&D worked with on a project previously on Kiawah Island (Thursday), and 2 hours out on site at 26 South Battery taking field measurements with my peer and architecture associate, James (Thursday). Images of 26 South Battery are attached below.

 

Besides the Oyster Catcher clubhouse, we will be doing renovation work to the existing clubhouse, and for renovation work you must document the existing conditions to know what will be demolished and what will stay. Below is an image of the Revit model I’m working on completely by myself to document the entire structure. I will not be heavily involved in the design phase as an intern who is still learning a lot, but my roll in documentation of the existing helps one understand a CD set, and be able to translate the architectural drawings of another firm into a cohesive model. The PM for all these projects is my mentor Joel while my co-workers James and Cassie help with production. All and all, I’ve earned AXP hours in design development and “programming and analysis” this week. Below you’ll also find images of 26 South Battery, the historical home we will be renovating.

 

 

Removing unusable materials in the guest house of 26

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *