Brittany Lapple | SMHa | Nov. 15 – Nov. 19

Weekly Hours: 13.5 | Total Hours: 192

After 6 months, this was my last week at SMHa! I spent most of my time helping Billy wrap up the permit set for the Crow’s Nest storage addition. We went back and forth a few times with redlines, cleaned up and reviewed the sheets, and touched base with the structural engineer. Because of the small scope of this project, as well as the existing details from the first phase of design in 2015, we were able to wrap it up fairly quickly! It was a fun final project to work on during my time here.

Looking back, I was lucky enough to work on several very dynamic projects over the last few months. They ranged from a Kiawah Island resort with a budget over $100 million, to a local retail complex with an unusually strict DRB process, to a 750 sq. ft. addition to an existing pool house. I was able to experience a number of project types, clients, and got experience in all phases of design. During my exit review, I was able to look over the initial goals I had set for myself, and can say I achieved all of them! I am very grateful for my time at SMHa 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *