Chari Chambers: Two Week Summary

Week 1 (Feb. 12 – Feb. 14)

My first week at my internship was great, and I see myself obtaining a lot of knowledge in the coming weeks!  I spent the majority of the week learning a new software, called PowerCADD, and editing redlines on a set of schematic drawings.  I also had the opportunity to attend and observe a client meeting with Urban Electric in North Charleston, and go on a site visit of the new Taco Boy in Summerville.

Time worked: 16.5 hrs
AXP category: Project Planning & Design, Practice Management, and Construction & Evaluation

 

Week 2 (Feb. 19 – Feb. 21)

​This week I spent the majority of the week detailing my second project with my advisor, who is designing a suspended staircase in a private residence.  I participated in a site visit, collecting measurements, and field photographs for documentation, and I finished out the week observing a meeting with The Preservation Society.  These meetings are very informative, as they showed me just how many rules and regulations an architect must abide by in order to design in a historical district.

Time worked: 16.5 hrs
AXP category: Project Planning & Design, Practice Management, and Construction & Evaluation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *