Mackenzie Abernethy: Weekly Blog Post #3

Martin Luther King Pool Cover
Charleston, South Carolina
Project Scope: Our firm is renovating the existing pool in downtown Charleston, the MLK public pool. This building is right down the road from the cigar factory, at the corner of Lee and Hannover. This renovation includes new landscaping and fencing, an entirely new strucuture covering the pool, a renovation of the existing buildings, and additional parking across the street.
Project Manager: Mike Nixon
Role of Student: Working on Redlines for this project. I spent time printing files and sheet sets, and editing documents for the project architect.
What I have learned: I feel like I have realized this week how long projects continue.  They require the collaboration of so many different people, that sheet sets get sent back and forth continuously as people make corrections.  This week, I spent a large amount of time trying to figure out BIM and Revit collaboration.  Understanding the importance and relevance of this software was so important.  All of the people working on a single project can edit the same sheet set and that seems vital to the success of a project going out on time.

I also learned that architecture revolves around technology now.  I am understanding that tech. issues will come into my daily life in a firm.  Being the intern that knows how to handle software and help others overcome computer challenges is a plus when it comes to advancing in the workplace.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *