Brooke Young | Design Division | Week 12

Wednesday (12-07-22)

Today I continued to work on the Market St bike infrastructure plan drawing. I primarily focused on imposing pre existing SCDOT bike lane infrastructure designs into the plan. I also had a brief meeting with my mentor to discuss the bike infrastructure design at the Market St and Meeting St intersection because this is a difficult area to design for considering the high pedestrian activity, high traffic volume, and the layout of the streets in conjunction with each other.

Work Period: 12:00PM – 5:40PM

Thursday (12-08-22)

Today I continued to work on the Market St bike infrastructure plan drawing. I primarily focused on imposing the chosen concept of the Market St bike infrastructure design in front of Charleston Place that I had worked on a few weeks ago. I also had a brief meeting with my mentor to discuss the Charleston Place Bike infrastructure design concept and how it was modified from the initial iteration that was submitted to the mayor. Afterwards, I refined the plan drawing to look presentation worthy and imported sections of the drawing at high interest points into a presentation file.

Work Period: 9:00AM – 5:30PM

Friday (12-09-22)

Today I continued to work on refining the Market St bike infrastructure plan drawing and importing the file into a presentation document for further review. I also was requested to send the drawing over to my coworkers outside of the studio to get further feedback.

Work Period: 10:00AM – 5:30PM

Reflection

This week I continued to establish a foundation of knowledge for urban bike lane design. I’m able to give rough estimates of recommended or required sizing of bike lanes, buffers, road ways, as well as, recommended designs for certain urban contexts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *