Nick Oxendale | Thomas & Denzinger | Week 9 of the Semester

Another great week in the office down, this week we finished up the Oyster Catcher rendering set and moved on to a small house renovation I was working on a couple months ago. The Oyster Catcher is the project I worked on all last week making a sequential set of renderings. On Monday and Tuesday I spent the day finishing out that set of renderings with some minor adjustments Joel asked that I make. You can find many of the renderings on my previous week blog post so I didn’t include those images this week. On Wednesday I switched projects to Patricia’s house. She has a smaller home on Kiawah Island that neighbors the beach that she’s turning into a vacation home for her family. The renovation entails leaving all existing exterior walls and re-working the interior space. This entails working in plan, creating a demo plan, and a proposed plan. It’s a pretty easy project because all I’m doing is essentially a space planning exercise for the interior. As I show my supervisor (Joel) some of my iterations he gives me advice such a space for bathrooms, hallways, or egress; giving me advice/further changes to make with each iteration. Once Thursday came around I had to switch over to the Adbo project. I wrote about this project earlier on in the semester for I haven’t touched it in a while due to the firm waiting on the client to see if we can push on into design development. My task for this project was to update the front facade, the client wanted a rain scupper designed on the facade to protrude and allow water to fall down a rain chain rather than the traditional gutter system. Here is the rendering for the Abdo residence I adjusted. I couldn’t model the complex curve to the scupper so I decided to photoshop it in.

 

As one can see, in the middle of the facade there is an added copper rain scupper with a rain chain attached.

Here is an image of Patricia’s house that I’m currently design the interior to… On the left is the existing, on the right is the proposed.

From the plan above one day see how we are removing the front porch and adding to the house, adding a private bedroom and bathroom. Here is a more formal breakdown of my work this past week:

Monday: 4 hours – Oyster Catcher + Team meeting

Tuesday: 4 hours – Oyster Catcher

Wednesday: 4 hours – Patricia’s Renovation

Thursday: 4 hours – Abdo rendering + Patricia’s renovation

Friday: 3 hours – Patricia’s Renovation

All and all I earned 19 AXP hours, 18 hours were logged as design development and 1 hour was logged for practice management. As always, the PM for each of the projects I’m working on is my mentor, Joel Wenzel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *