Brooke Young | Design Division | Week 10

Monday (11-14-22)

Today I worked on the USACE Peninsula 3x3x3 Study focusing on creating axon graphics of barrier types. I was able to complete a Battery Edge Condition axon based on current conditions of the Battery Edge and a Home Elevation axon, depicting a home on stilts.

Work Period: 3:00PM – 5:40PM

Tuesday (11-15-22)

Today I was trained in how to produce a base map from ArcMaps that provides the correct information that the design team typically requires. After my training in the software, I continued my work on the Market St bike infrastructure project. I created a map of the overall focus area, approximately from St. Philip’s St to East Bay St. After creating the map I was tasked with outlining the curb conditions of the focus area.

Work Period: 1:30PM – 5:30PM

Thursday (11-17-22)

Today I continued to work on the Market St bike lane infrastructure project. Focusing my efforts on getting relatively precise locations of the curb edge and depicting that in a plan graphic of the project area. I required street and curb dimensions for some of the areas, so I conducted a site visit with a coworker and used measuring devices to acquire the needed measurements, as well as, took site photos for future use as vignettes.

Work Period: 1:30PM – 5:50PM

Reflection

This week I focused my efforts on revising the Market St bike lane infrastructure plan graphics. I enjoyed getting to learn a new software and how that translates into the design work of the studio. I also learned the protocol for visiting a site to acquire specific dimensions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *