Brooke Young | Design Division | Week 9

Monday (11-07-22)

Today I continued to work on the Market St bike lane section graphics. My mentor and I had a surprise meeting with the JMT engineers overseeing the Low Battery Phase 4 project. We mainly discussed reiterated concepts based on the last meeting. A lot of the feedback produced centered around how to deal with skateboarders using the railings as apart of their “stunts” and how stair/ramp placement would affect traffic (pedestrian or vehicular).

Work Period: 1:30PM – 5:30PM

Tuesday (11-08-22)

Today I continued to work on the Market St bike lane section and plan drawings, focusing primarily on adding relevant dimensions. I also reiterated the plan drawings to show loading zones based on a critique received by my mentor. After completing all reiterations received for today I infilled the presentation template with the graphics mentioned and marked call outs, concept names, and key take aways.

Work Period: 1:20PM – 5:30PM

Wednesday (11-09-22)

Today I continued to work on the Market St bike lane concept graphics and presentation template. I focused my efforts on reiterating the plan drawings with modified bike lane widths, modified buffer widths, implementing bike boxes, and showing planned bike lane additions on adjacent streets. After reiterating the graphics based on critiques received by my mentor, I added text description of relevant bike infrastructure projects into the presentation.

Work Period: 1:20PM – 5:20PM

Sunday (11-13-22)

Today I had to work from home due to the tropical storm warning. My mentor assigned me to research case studies within the United States that showcased Skateboard Urbanism since skateboarding is an issue often brought up in the Low Battery meetings. I was also tasked with reviewing the Bloomberg Initiative for Cycling Infrastructure grant as well as other relevant successful projects submitted for a grant.

Work Period: 5:40PM – 9:40PM

Reflection

This week I focused my efforts on revising the Market St bike lane concept material. This has helped me expand my knowledge of bike lane infrastructure and understand of how much time and effort it takes to get a proposal like this approved or implemented.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *