Kyle Kane | LOWE | WEEK 4

Project: Entitlement Research 

Project Manager: Jacob Lindsey 

Tuesday – 10.04.22

I continued researching PUDs and rezoning applications to try to compile the submittal dates and their corresponding start of build date and compare that turnaround to the project announcement date. Also, there is a dead rat somewhere in/around my office’s trailer, so thank God it was nice enough to keep the door open.

Axp. Hours: 3     Category: Project Development & Documentation

Wednesday – 10.05.22

My day started with an hour long meeting with Jacob in which we ran through the dates and information I have found, and Jacob helped fill in some of the missing info. I also finally received my documents from the city (Woohoo), so I can begin confirming and finalizing the dates and numbers I need.

Axp. Hours: 4     Category: Project Development & Documentation

Thursday – 10.06.22

After sifting through the PUDs and Zoning applications, I was able to complete my data log for dates on the projects. I began to come up with graphics for the projects build-out percentages and then begin on a timeline for each of them to easily compare them, visually. We also ended the day with our first meeting for class. Myself and Jacob were only fashionably late, but when everyone wants to talk to you, and you have to talk to everyone (like Jacob), you run a little behind.

Axp. Hours: 3     Category: Project Development & Documentation

 

Lessons Learned

This week I really learned the value of having good relationships with people in the City and County offices. When I met with Jacob for an update on where I was, I was still missing a good chunk of info because I could not gain access to the documents I needed and was still waiting on other people for said documents. Within the hour of Jacob getting on the phone with someone, I received the files that had been requested two weeks prior. There is an old saying that goes; you attract more bees with honey than vinegar. Jacob is the perfect embodiment of this in his work.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *