Jennifer Jonson | LS3P | Week 0 (35)

WEEKLY ENTRY

09/06/2022

  • Time Worked: 7:30am-3:30pm
  • Tasks Performed:
    • General Overhead
      • Reconnect with coworkers after a month-long break
      • Report to mentor for new projects
      • Training
      • Revit tutorials
        • Work Accomplished: Project Management

09/08/2022

  • Time Worked: 7:30am-3:30pm
  • Tasks Performed:
    • General Overhead
      • Reconnect with coworkers after a month-long break
      • Report to mentor for new projects
      • Training
      • Revit tutorials
        • Work Accomplished: Project Management

 

LESSONS LEARNED

RECORDS OF WORK

General Operations (project management)

  • Project Location: Charleston, SC
  • Brief Description: General Operations in the Charleston office.
  • Project Scope: Firm Culture, Discussion, Training, Revit Tutorials
  • Project Manager: Thomas Jasper
  • Role of the Student: Reconnect with co-workers. Meet with my mentor. Complete training and Revit tutorials.
  • Experience:
    • For this week, I got back into the swing of things after taking a month-long break to prepare for the fall semester. I extended my internship from the spring semester into the summer, where I had the chance to work on a variety of projects, such as storefront and alum-clad wood window details for an amenity center, RCPs and unit plans for a residential building, and the entire pro-bono design process for a community center in Edisto Island (which began as a CACC spring studio project that LS3P took over). Coming back into the office, I had the chance to reconnect with my coworkers and complete training and Revit tutorials, allowing me to improve my software skills and knowledge. I am excited to continue this internship, which will enable me to deepen my understanding of architecture and improve my craft by exposing myself to various projects. 

 

Snippets from the Pro-Bono Design Presentation Set for Edisto Island’s Community Center

Here is an example of a project that I completed over the summer. This was my favorite project that I have worked on at LS3P so far. My mentor gave me the opportunity to work on the entire pro-bono design for Edisto Island’s Community Center. I completed the entire Revit model, plans, perspectives, and presentation sets from start to finish under the guidance of my mentor. This project was an interesting experience for me because I was exposed to the pro-bono design process which I never had the opportunity to take part in yet until now. So, I am grateful that I broadened my knowledge about architecture through this project.

Edisto Island Rec Center Perspective Rendered by Brian Wurst.
Edisto Island Phase 1 Site Plan.
Edisto Island Phase 2 Site Plan.
Edisto Island Phase 3 Site Plan.
Edisto Island Phase 4 Site Plan.
Edisto Island Rec Center Floor Plan.
Edisto Island Rec Center Perspective.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *