Ian Kordonis | Kevin Hoertdoefer Architects | Week Nine

  

Total Hours| 16 Hours
AXP Hours| 16 Hours

Monday + Wednesday + Thursday
10.18.21 – 10.22.21

Ian’s Week:

On Monday I went back into my Rhino file and continued working on the Mungo Family House Stairs. These stairs have been an exciting and challenging process for me, especially them being my first design of some. The final drawings are nearing completion, and Monday was me working on the stair section.

On Monday before I left, Kevin met with Deshaun, the other intern, and I to talk about a new project he received in the Highlands of North Carolina. His client bought vacant land next to the Cullasja River and is hoping Kevin can design a single family residence cetnered around AirBnB hostings. He also wants Kevin to just use high-bay shipping containers. Kevin allowed Deshaun and I to go on our own and come up with some concepts. I pulled briefly from context and an Olson Kundig house in particular that uses large steel members. Attached are the sketches.

I have noticed now through my experience with Kevin that I have gotten to design so much for my first job. I am extremely grateful for that opportunity.

Records of work:

Mungo Family House
James Island, South Carolina
Single Family Residential
Kevin Hoertdoerfer
Intern Design

 

Arnett House
Highlands, North Carolina
Single Family Residential
Kevin Hoertdoerfer
Intern Design

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *