Delaney Skelly: Week 4

Weekly Entry: Log Summary – Delaney Skelly

Monday September 20th – Thursday September 23rd

Time Worked:

  • Sunday: 5:00 – 7:30 pm 
  • Monday: Off  
  • Tuesday: 9-5pm  
  • Wednesday: 9- 12pm
  • Thursday: 9 – 4:30pm

 

Tasks Performed

  • Sunday I wrapped up some drawings for a previous client who had made some last minute changes. 
  • Monday I was off
  • Tuesday I spent the entire day at work and focused on preparing for my Thursday meeting with my boss and the Cumbaa clients. I spent the day picking out furniture and finalizing our top choices and finishes, creating updated furniture drawings to scale, and laying out fabrics and textures to show Thursday. 
  • Wednesday I continued to pull different fabrics, carpets, and paint colors for our meeting tomorrow. I focused on creating molding throughout the house and reviewing those options. A proposal was finished in order to have a document to show our clients exactly what we are showing them, what existing furniture we are using and the rest we recommend purchasing and how to do that, etc. 
  • Thursday was the day of our meeting and was very informative. We met with the clients for 3 hours and went over furniture, layouts, fabric, paint colors and finishes. It was a very long and exhausting process, but also extremely informative. It can be difficult to lead a client in a certain direction when they are not seeing the design vision. I learned how a client meeting like this is run from start to finish and how to go forward from there. 

 

Work Accomplished (AXP HOURS EARNED) 

  • 15 hours

Lessons Learned 

I learned about the effect and requirements of preparing for a client proposal meeting. This was a stressful but very exciting week in terms of compiling all the information and editing all of the furniture plans to be the correct size and orientation. It was a very valuable week, Thursday of course being my favorite day being able to sit in on and participate in my first client meeting. 

 

Records of Work 

Project Title: Cumbaa Residence

Project Location: Daniel Island

Project Scope: New Construction Large Residence

Project Manager: Beverly Bohan

Role of the Student: Assist Beverly in design decisions. Take lead on all architectural drawings and drafting. I focus on assisting Beverly in the client meetings and giving my opinion as well.  

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *