Emma Gibson – Week 2

 

AXP Hours: 12 hours

Time Worked: 12 hours

Tasks Performed: drawing exterior side elevations in PowerCADD, helping with design decisions on window and stair placement, and setting up the office for a new employee 

 

Lessons Learned: This week I continued work on the Sullivan Island’s elevations. I moved from front/back elevations to side elevations. I spent most of my time on a staircase that spans three floors. The design is difficult because we want the stair central on the back porch but do not want to block views of the light house. Staircases take a particularly long time for me because they involve a lot of tweaking and calculations but the more I draw, the easier they get. I had a great opportunity to weigh in on design decisions which made me feel like a part of the team. It gave me insight into what my role will be in the future when I gain more experience and independence. 

 

Records of Work:

Project Title: Residential Renovation 

Project Location: Sullivan’s Island 

Project Scope: extensive exterior and interior renovations

Project Manager: Alicia Reed

Role of the Student: all drawings (as-built, plans, demo, additions, elevations)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *