SMHa : Week Four

Week Four 02.03.2020 – 02.06.2020; SMHa 

 

Weekly Reflection The fourth week at SMHa was heavily weighted with design iterations and construction detailing in Revit. I was able to spend my entire week focusing on the schematic design phase of the project involving a mail kiosk. This week was particularly exciting for me, as I got to explore my creativity with the design through sketches and Sketchup modeling. Throughout this process, I learned how to communicate these design concepts with an internal mentor. I was not as exposed to the schematic design and project planning phase in previous internship experiences, so I felt very thankful to have this experience and excited to learn more. 

 

02.03.2020 Daily Task 4 hours; Project Planning + Design. After the weekly monday meeting, I transferred the selected Sketchup Model of the mail kiosk over to Revit. A wall section and foundation slab detail were drafted to give to the other design consultants working on this project. I selected structure connectors, sized timber members, specified paint colors and dimensioned these details before sending off to my internal mentor.

 

02.04.2020 Daily Task 4 hours; Project Planning + Design. I was greeted with redlines to the details that I submitted to my internal mentor the day before. While doing these adjustments, we were given some guidance by the structural engineer consultant on how to integrate the design with the correct building components and systems. 

 

02.05.2020 Daily Task 4 hours; Project Planning + Design. I continued working on the Revit details of the mail kiosk. Being familiar with Revit, I was able to work without guidance and self-corrected discrepancies while a large majority of the office was out in various meetings.

02.06.2020 Daily Task 4 hours; Project Planning + Design. Starting my morning, I spent a short amount of time working on the mail kiosk. After finishing this, I was asked to draw a few clarifying window details in Revit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *