SMHa : Week Three

Week Three 01.27.2020 – 01.30.2020; SMHa 

Weekly Reflection The third week at SMHa I was able to finish the Sketchup Model of existing apartment complexes, and was asked to help with design alternatives for a mail kiosk within the same site project. This was exciting for me to have all control over the design of this kiosk, and strengthened my experience in general building design. I learned the term “coastal contemporary,” which is used around the office for an exterior design scheme. From this, I referenced a binder with do’s and don’ts, color palettes, and client suggestions on how to design for an aesthetically appealing mail kiosk.

01.27.2020 Daily Task 4 hours; Project Development + Documentation. After the weekly monday meeting, I spent the first half of my morning scanning the original drawing set for a project as requested by a previous client. While doing so, I was able to identify all of the consultants involved for this particular project and who was responsible for what in order to create an accurate construction document set for construction. I then finished my time for the day tweaking the Sketchup Model for a final submission to the landscape architect for future renderings. 

01.28.2020 Daily Task 4 hours; Project Planning + Design. After completing the apartment complex 3d modeling, I was asked to design a mail kiosk that greets all of the new construction single family homes within this same project. I was given basic schematic requirements from the client and designed a few iterations in Sketchup.

01.29.2020 Daily Task 4 hours; Project Planning + Design. I continued working on various design concepts to share with the client and consultants in Sketchup.

01.30.2020 Daily Task 4 hours; Project Planning + Design. I presented what I had completed to my internal mentor for this particular project. He then suggested a few adjustments and I worked on that in Sketchup for the remainder of my morning.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *