9/16-9/19

9/16

8:30 – 12:15

Made updates to Sunbelt Rentals SketchUp Model.

Work on exterior as-built elevation for Lancaster Eye Clinic.

3.75 h Project Planning & Design

 

9/17

8:30-12:30

Code review for Lancaster Eye Clinic.

Modify Sunbelt Rentals SketchUp Model.

4 h Project Planning & Design

 

9/18

8:00-12:15

Code review for Lancaster Eye Clinic.

Modify Sunbelt Rentals SketchUp Model.

Construction drawings for Major residence addition.

2 h Project Planning & Design

2.25 h Construction Documentation

 

9/19

8:40-12:40

Construction drawings for Major residence addition.

4 h Construction Documentation

 

Weekly Reflection

There are two projects that I mainly worked on this week:

1. Lancaster Eye Clinic

It locates in Lancaster and it’s a partial reconstruction project. The client wants to change the main entry lobby and key check-in space of the clinic. What I have been done is studying the lobby circulation, optimal room, door and corridor sizes to compromise ADA regulation. As we are going into the SD phase, my superviser suggested me to start code review for this project. This is the first time for me to review code and there are a lot of questions when I was reading through all these different chapters and sections. It is a very good opportunity to learn about building safety issue systematically, which I don’t learn from school. Although a lot of people told me that codes are boring and they give architects tons of limitations on design, I kind of disagree with them because buildings have to be safe for people dwelling in and it’s not easy.

 

2. Major residence addition

This project locates in North Charleston. The original construction is a very small, one-story high house. Our firm added a two-story addition to it and re-introduced the gate into the house. The design has been done. I am assigned to produce the construction drawing set for permission. This is also the first time I ever work on a construction drawing. I am a little nervous about that because I have no experience with it. However, the size of the building is quite small, design is very clear and straight-forward, so it’s not super challenging and it’s still feasible for me. For now, I finished the floor plans and I really start to think about how to deliver the most clear and appropriate information only by several drawings on 24″ x 36″ paper. Being able to work on some small projects gives architects more responsibility and ability to observe the whole process of design and construction.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *